Skip to main content

Teaching Religious, Spiritual and Creed Traditions in Public Schools

This professional development course seeks to give teachers the conceptual and practical skills to understand the way religion, spiritual, and creed traditions inform the identities and experiences of students, families and communities they serve. Thus, there is a focus on narratives and experiences within the conceptions of religion, spiritual, and creed tradition, which will also be discussed to offer foundational knowledge.

No pre-requisites required. This program is for all involved in educating students; Teachers, Admin, EA’s and ECE’s.

  • Module 1 - Religion, tradition and creed as a feature of our students&8217; intersectional identities: What is its relevance today? (4 hours)
  • Module 2 - Perspectives in Balance traditions (4 hours)
  • Module 3 - Perspectives in Indian traditions (4 hours)
  • Module 4 - Perspectives in Middle Eastern traditions (4 hours)
  • Module 5 - Perspectives in non-religious traditions (4 hours)
  • Module 6 - Pedagogical practices: Knowing yourself and doing interfaith dialogue via neutrality (4 hours)
  • Module 7 - Pedagogical practices: The Cultural Studies Approach (4 hours)
  • Module 8 - Pedagogical practices: The Interpretive Approach (4 hours)
  • Module 9 - Pedagogical practices: Empowering equity and inclusion practices in your role (4 hours)
  • Module 10 - Pedagogical practices: Design and evaluation (4 hours)

Cost

$1,350 plus HST

Dates

  • Saturday, March 23, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. 
  • Saturday, March 30, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. 
  • Saturday, April 6, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. 
  • Saturday, April 13, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. 
  • Saturday, April 27, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. 
  • Saturday, May 4, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. 
  • Saturday, May 11, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. 
  • Saturday, May 25, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. 
  • Saturday, June 1, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. 
  • Saturday, June 8, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. 

 

Register