

### **Executive Committee**

Report to Academic Council at its meeting of September 18, 2007

## For Action

#### 1. Academic Council Nominations

The Executive Committee recommends:

That the following individuals be appointed as members of Academic Council:

Judith Grant, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Criminology, Justice and Policy Studies (three year term)

Murray Genoe, Trent University Representative (one year term)

# 2. Chancellor's Search Committee

The University's Procedures to Select a New Chancellor state that:

When a vacancy in the office of the Chancellor occurs, the Board shall establish a search committee to identify an individual who possesses a distinguished record of philanthropy and public service and embodies the mission and values of UOIT to be appointed as Chancellor. The search committee shall be comprised of: (a) the President, who shall chair the committee; (b) three members of the Board, appointed by the Board; and (c) three members of Academic Council, appointed by Academic Council.

The Executive Committee therefore recommends:

That the following members of Academic Council be appointed to serve on the Chancellor's search committee:

Carolyn Byrne, Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences Richard Marceau, Provost Shirley Van Nuland, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Education

#### 3. Three Year Review Appeal Committee Nomination

The University's Third-Year Review Procedures state that "the University shall establish a Three Year Review Appeal committee, consisting of three tenured faculty members, chosen from across the University, nominated by the Provost and confirmed by the Academic Council." Dean Rosen, who has served on this Committee, will be on administrative leave this academic year. To fill this vacancy, Provost Marceau has made the following nomination:

Raymond Cox, Professor, Faculty of Business and Information Technology

Dr. Cox already sits on the Tenure Review Committee, and he has graciously agreed to serve on the Three Year Review Appeal Committee as well. The other members of the Three Year Review Appeal Committee, William Smith and Shahid Alvi, also serve on the Tenure Appeal Committee. Since it is possible that these individuals could be involved in particular cases, we would expect them to recuse themselves if these cases were to be appealed and we would arrange for an appropriate substitute.

#### For Information

# 1. UOIT Teaching Awards

Upon the recommendation of Bill Muirhead, Associate Provost, Teaching and Learning, the Executive Committee approved the membership of the selection committee for the UOIT Teaching Awards, as outlined in the attached report. (http://cms.dc-

uoit.ca/web/UOIT/UOIT/Assets/Section~specific/About~UOIT/Governance/Academic~Council//20070 918/AC%206a%20Exec%20Cttee%20-%20Teaching%20Award%20Report%20(Sept%2007).doc)

## 2. Summer Authority

The terms of reference of the Executive Committee state that: "During the summer months, the Executive Committee will act on behalf of Academic Council and the Executive Committee will report to the Academic Council, at its first regular meeting in September, what action has been taken under this authority."

During the summer, the Executive Committee did not have occasion to meet and therefore has no action to report.