Skip to main content

Dr. David Sanborn Scott

Doctor of Science, honoris causa

Founding director of the Institute for Integrated Energy Systems at the University of Victoria, Dr. David Sanborn Scott has made numerous important contributions to the study of hydrogen. He authored the influential report, Hydrogen: National Mission for Canada, and served as a consultant to the federal government, major U.S. laboratories and multinational consulting firms. He was Vice-President (for the Americas) of the International Association for Hydrogen Energy and was recognized by that body with the prestigious Jules Verne Award in 2006.

He was named the inaugural honorary life-time member of the Canadian Hydrogen Association.When Albert College in Belleville, Ontario created its Alumni Wall of Honour in 2008 to celebrate its 150-year history, Dr. Scott was among the first nine persons so recognized. In 2010 he was inducted as a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering. He was the honorary chair of the 2012 World Hydrogen Energy Conference in Toronto.