Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

2012 Convocation

Convocation 2012 was held on Friday, June 8, with approximately 1,600 undergraduate and graduate degrees conferred. This was a significant event for the university with graduates of the following programs crossing the stage for the first time: Nuclear Technology (graduate diploma), Bachelor of Allied Health Sciences, Bachelor of Arts in Communication, Bachelor of Arts in Legal Studies and collaborative Bachelor of Science in Nursing – Georgian College cohort.

Honorary degrees were conferred upon energy leader Laura Formusa, safe energy advocate Tom Mitchell, and community leader and broadcast journalist Ken Shaw for their outstanding contributions to their professions and communities.