Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

The Honourable Perrin Beatty

Perrin Beatty

Doctor of Laws, honoris causa

Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science
Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science

For his distinguished career in public service, his executive leadership in the Canadian business community and his long-standing commitment to the University of Ontario Institute of Technology, the university is proud to confer upon the Honourable Perrin Beatty the honorary degree of Doctor of Laws.

The former federal cabinet minister and the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce, was appointed as the university’s second Chancellor in August 2008. Mr. Beatty presided over seven convocation ceremonies between 2009 and 2015, during a period of tremendous growth in enrolment, greater brand awareness and expansion of the university’s infrastructure.

The native of Fergus, Ontario graduated from Upper Canada College, Toronto, Ontario in 1968 and continued his education in London at the University of Western Ontario, graduating with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Social Sciences in 1971.

His lengthy political career began only one year after obtaining his degree, when he was elected to the House of Commons as a member of Robert Stanfield’s Progressive Conservative Party. He went on to win six consecutive elections as a Member of Parliament.

After the party came to power in 1979, he was appointed by Prime Minister Joe Clark as Minister of State for the Treasury Board, making Mr. Beatty the youngest person to that time to serve in federal cabinet. He continued to play a prominent role in subsequent Progressive Conservative governments between 1984 and 1993, holding numerous cabinet posts under Prime Ministers Brian Mulroney and ultimately serving as Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs in the government of Kim Campbell.

Following his political career, Prime Minister Jean Chrétien appointed Mr. Beatty in 1995 as President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, a position he held until 1999 when he became President and CEO of Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters. Eight years later he joined the Canadian Chamber of Commerce as President and CEO.

Mr. Beatty has served on a number of Canadian government advisory committees, was a member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian International Council and the Advisory Council of the Canadian Defence and Foreign Affairs Institute, and is a member of the Board of Directors of Mitsui Canada. He has also taught a course in Communications Technologies and Public Policy at the University of Western Ontario as an honorary visiting professor. He received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from Western in 2013.