Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

PET Members

The President’s Equity Taskforce will consist of nine members and report to the Provost, who will be an ex officio member.

Chair – Faculty Member appointed by the Provost
AVP Human Resources or delegate
AVP Student Life or delegate
VP Research, Innovation & International or delegate
Dean appointed by the Provost
Faculty Members (3) appointed by the Provost
Provost (ex-officio)


The President’s Equity Taskforce will be supported by the Office of the Assistant Vice-President Human Resources.

Wesley Crichlow, Associate Dean, Equity Chair or President's Equity Taskforce.

Dr. Wesley Crichlow

Associate Dean, Equity
Chair, President's Equity Taskforce
Jennifer Freeman, Director of Research Services

Jennifer Freeman

Director of Research Services
Akira Tokuhiro,  Dean, Faulty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science

Akira Tokuhiro

Dean, Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science

Natalie Oman

Assistant Professor, Faculty Social Sciences and Humanities
Allyson Eamer, Associate Professor, Faculty of Education.

Allyson Eamer

Associate Professor, Faculty of Education
Rajen Akalu, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Business and IT.

Rajen Akalu

Assistant Professor, Faculty of Business and IT
Akeisha Lari, Equity and Inclusivity Advisor

Akeisha Lari

Manager, Student Engagement and Equity